top of page

Five Questions With: Emily Potter


Anyone who has ever had the good fortune of talking with Emily Potter will know she is a highly articulate and passionate person. This is obvious when hearing her talk about her great many interests, which include food, nature, community and health - but most of all for her is basketball.

Fuelled by that love the Winnipegger has put her 6'4" frame to good use, setting records for the Utah Utes in the NCAA and suiting up for teams in Poland and the Czech Republic. She has also represented Canada at both Under-17 and Under-20 level and was part of the national team for the 2019 Pan American Games.

Being a good friend of TTN, Emily took time for what could just have been a regular chat about basketball, but when it came to answering questions, she bared her soul and turned what could have been a straightforward exchange into an insightful, enthusiastic and heartfelt conversation, as only she can.

 

1. What have been some of your very best experiences playing basketball?

There are definitely a few that come to mind because of the atmosphere and the opponent I played. Playing a tight quarter final against the Netherlands in Amsterdam at the 2012 Under-17 World Championships was the first time I experienced passionate European fans and that gym was loud!

This year my club, KP Brno, played our cross-town rivals Zabiny three times and it was always close, always so competitive and no one wanted to lose. My first true rivalry game, though, was in college against BYU, they call it the “Holy War". Freshman year we won at their place in double OT and it was a game that I was so pumped, nervous and grateful to be a part of.

Another game I had an absolute blast in was at Gonzaga in the second round of the WNIT tournament in 2016 - I could not even hear myself think during that game, but we came out with the win.

2. How much do you feel the standard and perception of Canadian basketball and the country's players has changed?

Canadian basketball has grown tremendously from even the time I started playing to now, and that’s only been about thirteen years. In Manitoba at least, I see so many more youth teams and clubs and tournaments then there was when I was a kid, and I love it!

It feels like Canada is continuing to prove that we have talent with more and more players going to the NBA, WNBA and becoming pros. Everywhere I go, everyone I have met respects Canada and loves Canadians!

3. We regularly see top basketball players turn down playing for national teams, as recently as the 2019 World Cup. As someone who has played for Canada, do you feel there isn't the same perceived honour in playing international basketball that there is in other sports?

I think everyone who represents their country holds those experiences close to their heart, but when there’s money to be made you have to make tough choices. Basketball is thankfully a sport where women in particular can make a lot of money, (but) playing year round can lead to a lot of burn out. So every summer people want to step away from the national team to have a break and rest. For me personally, even though I love basketball, I do enjoy breaks where my body can rest and I come back refreshed, but everyone is different.

There’s also other things like injuries or other life events going on. I think in college it can be especially hard because of how taxing the season is and how close knit the teams are. Missing portions of the college season, even the off-season, can play a huge difference for the team for the year.

4. You have an active social media presence. How can it be helpful and harmful using it as a pro athlete?

When I went off to college, social media was a way all my friends and family back home could see how I was doing. It has made it possible for me to live away from home and play basketball. It's also a great place to share about what is important to us outside of our sport or job: I am big on mental health, so I’m always talking about that and bringing my perspective as an athlete into it.

In terms of me as an athlete, I want whatever fans might want to know or see to be accessible. I understand that some girls might see me as a role model so I definitely pay attention to what I am posting. Social media can be distracting, draining and harmful mentally, but it can also be an amazing way to connect to people if used correctly.

5. What are the best and worst things about being 6'4"?

Being this tall is a blessing that I wouldn’t trade for the world. It truly makes me, me. Most days I forget I’m tall and am only reminded by stares or comments. Most people are nice about it, but constantly being asked how tall I am and how tall my parents are - why does that matter? - can sometimes get exhausting.

I love how my long legs always get me great views, but sometimes when I just want to blend in and hide, I can’t because I always stand out from the crowd. I also don't like struggling to find pants that are long enough. But I love how unique my height makes me and how it has helped lead me to an amazing career and life in sport.

Great questions, definitely out of the ordinary! Thanks for letting me be a part of this.

 

Be sure to follow Emily on Twitter and Instagram and visit her website, potteremily.com

Picture: Fotoholica Press

  • Twitter Social Icon

FOLLOW US

bottom of page